Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery

Two rings surrounding a person on a purple background.  Two open white pages on an orange background.  A black background with a white W.  A black background with a white symbol, that has a black play symbol in the middle.  A black background with a white tentacled cat.

Suggested Price: $1.99

With more than 50 million copies sold and translated into 36 languages, Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery is a bona fide classic and universally loved novel. Anne, a young orphan girl, is sent to live with Matthew & Marilla Cuthbert, a brother & sister that tend to a farm at Green Gables. The pair had wanted a boy so he could do farm work, but through a mix up, got Anne instead. Anne is joyful and imaginative; while Marilla initially wanted to send her back, she eventually relents and allows Anne to stay.

Anne settles into the community, excelling at her schoolwork and striking up friendships with Diana Barry, Jane Andrews, Ruby Gillis and, eventually (after some teasing starts them off on the wrong foot) Gilbert Blythe.

Anne of Green Gables is the first of 9 books. In her long series, Montgomery writes Anne from age 11, until 75 (with the final book being published in 2009). In order, they are:

  1. Anne of Green Gables
  2. Anne of Avonlea
  3. Anne of the Island
  4. Anne of Windy Poplars
  5. Anne’s House of Dreams
  6. Anne of Ingleside
  7. Rainbow Valley
  8. Rilla of Ingleside
  9. The Blythes Are Quoted

If you want to buy a hard-copy, you can do so here. If you want a box set of the Anne Shirley collection, you can get that here. If you like comics, there’s a graphic novel adaptation as well.